TOP Page > MSJ Prizes > Takebe Prizes

Japanese version
Previous version

The MSJ Takebe Katahiro Prizes

In celebration of its 50th anniversary, the MSJ established the MSJ Takebe Katahiro Prize ("Takebe Prize") and the MSJ Takebe Katahiro Prize for Encouragement of Young Researchers ("Encouragement Prize"), named after Katahiro Takebe (1644-1739), a prominent mathematician in Japan who was a disciple of Seki Takakazu and was noted for his creation of charts for the values of trigonometric functions. The Takebe Prize is set up for young researchers who have obtained outstanding results, and the Encouragement Prize is intended for young mathematicians who are deemed to have begun promising careers in research by obtaining significant results.

● 2007 Prize Winners (T=Takebe Prize, E=Encouragement Prize)
From left: Jun-ichi Segata(E), Yoshiko Ogata(E),
Masayuki Kawakita(T), Takuya Sakasai(E), Chifune Kai(E)
● 2008 Prize Winners (T=Takebe Prize, E=Encouragement Prize)
2nd row, from left:
Naohito Tomita(E), Yasunori Maekawa(E), Satoshi Murai(E)
1st row, from left:
Kouji Yano(T), Shu Kawaguchi(T), June Kato(T)

List of Takebe Prizes Winners (in Japanese)