The 2015 MSJ Takebe Prizes

The 2015 MSJ Takebe Katahiro Prizes are awarded to the following members of MSJ.

MSJ Takebe Katahiro Prise

Michiaki Onodera (Kyushu University, Institute of Mathematics for Industry)
Study of shape of solutions of elliptic equation by evolution equation approach
Shouhei Honda (Mathematical Institute, Tohoku University)
Geometric analysis on limit spaces of Riemannian manifolds
Shunsuke Yamana (Kyoto University Hakubi Center )
Automorphic L-functions and theta correspodence

MSJ Takebe Katahiro Prize for Encouragement of Young Researchers

Masahiro Ikeda (Department of Mathematics, Graduate School of Science, Kyoto University)
Asymptotic behavior of solutions for nonlinear dispersive wave equations
Erika Ushikoshi (Tamagawa University, College of Engineering)
Hadamard variational formula of the Stokes equations
Motohiro Sobajima (Department of Mathematics, Faculty of Science Division I, Tokyo University of Science)
Study on second-order elliptic operators with unbounded coeffcients
Kazuki Morimoto (Graduate School of Science, Kyoto University )
Periods of automorphic forms and special values of L-functions

In celebration of its 50th anniversary, the MSJ established above mentioned prizes named after Katahiro Takebe (1644-1739) -- a prominent mathematician in Japan who was a disciple of Seki Takakazu and was noted for his creation of charts for the values of trigonometric functions. The Takebe Prize is set up for young researchers who have obtained outstanding results, and the Encouragement Prize is intended for young mathematicians who are deemed to have begun promising careers in research by obtaining significant results.