The 2016 MSJ Takebe Prizes

The 2016 MSJ Takebe Katahiro Prizes are awarded to the following members of MSJ.

MSJ Takebe Katahiro Prise

Norihisa Ikoma (Institute of Science and Engineering, Kanazawa University)
Variational and non-variational approaches for nonlinear elliptic problems
Takefumi Nosaka (Faculty of Mathematics, Kyushu University)
Algebraic topology of quandles and low dimensional manifolds
Makoto Yamashita (Ochanomizu University Ochanomizu Academic Production)
Operator algebraic studies on quantum groups

MSJ Takebe Katahiro Prize for Encouragement of Young Researchers

Ken Abe (Center for the Promotion of Interdisciplinary Education and Research / Faculty of Science, Kyoto University)
Analysis of the the Navier-Stokes equations by maximum norm
Yoshihiro Abe (Graduate School of Science, Kobe University)
Detailed estimates on cover times and local times of random walks on graphs
Takahiro Oba (Department Mathematics, Tokyo Institute of Technology)
Contact manifolds and their Stein fillings
Ryo Kanda (Graduate School of Science, Osaka University)
Atom Spectra of Grothendieck categories
Yu Kitabeppu (Faculty of Science, Kyoto University)
Geometry of spaces with Ricci curvature bounded below
Yuta Wakasugi (Graduate School of Mathematics, Nagoya University)
Studies on the asymptotic behavior of solutions to damped wave equations

In celebration of its 50th anniversary, the MSJ established above mentioned prizes named after Katahiro Takebe (1644-1739) -- a prominent mathematician in Japan who was a disciple of Seki Takakazu and was noted for his creation of charts for the values of trigonometric functions. The Takebe Prize is set up for young researchers who have obtained outstanding results, and the Encouragement Prize is intended for young mathematicians who are deemed to have begun promising careers in research by obtaining significant results.