The 2017 MSJ Takebe Prizes

The 2017 MSJ Takebe Katahiro Prizes are awarded to the following members of MSJ.

MSJ Takebe Katahiro Prise

Tsukasa Iwabuchi (Graduate School of Science, Tohoku University)
Well-posedness for nonlinear evolution equations by the method of real analysis
Seiichiro Kusuoka (Research Institute for Interdisciplinary Science, Okayama University)
New developments of study on fundamental solutions via stochastic calculus
Haruya Mizutani (Graduate School of Science, Osaka University)
Strichartz estimates for Schrödinger equations
Takayuki Okuda (Graduate School of Science, Hiroshima University)
Discontinuous groups and combinatorics of homogeneous spaces

MSJ Takebe Katahiro Prize for Encouragement of Young Researchers

Yuki Arano (Graduate School of Science, Kyoto University)
Studies on operator algebraic quantum groups
Masato Hoshino (School of Fundamental Science and Engineering, Waseda University)
Studies on ill-posed stochastic partial differential equations
Sachiko Ishida (Graduate School of Science, Chiba University)
Studies on quasilinear degenerate Keller-Segel systems
Akihiro Kanemitsu (Graduate School of Mathematical Sciences, The University of Tokyo)
Contribution to Campana-Peternell conjecture and Mukai's problem on Fano manifolds
Tatsuya Miura (Graduate School of Mathematical Sciences, The University of Tokyo)
Mathematical Analysis on effects of bending, adhesion and tension energy to shapes
Takamichi Sano (Graduate School of Science, Osaka City University)
Studies on the equivariant Tamagawa number conjecture and Euler systems, especially Rubin-Stark elements

In celebration of its 50th anniversary, the MSJ established above mentioned prizes named after Katahiro Takebe (1644-1739) -- a prominent mathematician in Japan who was a disciple of Seki Takakazu and was noted for his creation of charts for the values of trigonometric functions. The Takebe Prize is set up for young researchers who have obtained outstanding results, and the Encouragement Prize is intended for young mathematicians who are deemed to have begun promising careers in research by obtaining significant results.