The 2018 MSJ Takebe Prizes

The 2018 MSJ Takebe Katahiro Prizes are awarded to the following members of MSJ.

MSJ Takebe Katahiro Prise

Yohei Fujishima (Academic Institute, College of Engineering, Shizuoka University)
Research on blow-up set of solutions for the semilinear heat equation
Johannes Jaerisch (Department of Mathematical Sciences, Shimane University)
Research on ergodic theory and its intensive applications to various fields
Masaya Maeda (Graduate School of Science, Chiba University)
Asymptotic stability of solitary waves for nonlinear Schrödinger equations
Kiwamu Watanabe (Graduate School of Science and Engineering, Saitama University)
Studies on the Campana-Peternell conjecture on Fano manifolds with nef tangent bundle

MSJ Takebe Katahiro Prize for Encouragement of Young Researchers

Hiraku Atobe (Graduate School of Mathematical Sciences, The University of Tokyo)
Automorphic representations and related local and global theta correspondences
Takayuki Koike (Graduate School of Science, Osaka City University)
Function theory on a neighborhood of a complex submanifold and its application to geometry
Shuta Nakajima (Graduate School of Science, Kyoto University)
Research on first passage percolation
Yusuke Nakamura (Graduate School of Mathematical Sciences, The University of Tokyo)
Studies of minimal log discrepancy and the minimal model theory over a finite field
Genki Omori (Graduate School of Science and Engineering, Saitama University)
The group structure of the mapping class group of a surface and its subgroups
Jin Takahashi (School of Computing, Tokyo Institute of Technology)
Moving singularities for parabolic equations

In celebration of its 50th anniversary, the MSJ established above mentioned prizes named after Katahiro Takebe (1644-1739) --- a prominent mathematician in Japan who was a disciple of Seki Takakazu and was noted for his creation of charts for the values of trigonometric functions. The Takebe Prize is set up for young researchers who have obtained outstanding results, and the Encouragement Prize is intended for young mathematicians who are deemed to have begun promising careers in research by obtaining significant results.